The President of the Baptist Union of Great Britain is elected annually and takes office at the annual Baptist Assembly held in May.  We look forward to welcoming our new President, Rupert Lazar, at our Assembly in Oxford on 14 May.  Following the recent election process, Dianne Tidball has been appointed as our new Vice-President, and we will also welcome her at Assembly.

The President’s main role is as a communicator/facilitator of our Union’s vision and mission. The President travels around our Union, engaging with local churches, regional Associations and Colleges.  
A key part of the role is leading the Baptist Steering Group (BSG) Accompanying Group, which provides prayer support and shares in spiritual and missional reflection with BSG. 
There will also be occasions when the President will provide a symbol or focus for unity of our Union, and as such will represent our Union at various civic and ecumenical events.  
President: The Revd Jenni Entrican
President Elect: The Revd Rupert Lazar

JenniEntricanJenni is a Scot who has lived in England since 1988.  A former teacher, she was ordained in 2004 following theological study at Bristol Baptist College. Having been a minister-in-training at Chipping Sodbury Baptist Church, she was called to lead a church plant with the object of connecting with spiritual seekers who would be unlikely to engage with mainstream church.  Jacob's Well is now a small group of Christians engaging with people through a community garden and community activities.

Over these past ten years Jenni's thinking and activities have been largely defined by the three intertwining strands of re-imaging mission, encouraging women in leadership, and developing one’s spiritually and discipleship. She is chair of Incarnate church planting Network, sits on the Council of Bristol Baptist College and is also the Chair of their Education Committee.  She loves reading, is a lapsed kayaker and an active cyclist!

Click here to find out more about the theme for Jenni's Presidential Year - 'Daring Greatly'.

Click here to access a list of former BUGB Presidents

Click here to access the blog posts from Chris Ellis during his Presidential year 2014-15.

Click here to access the blog posts from Ernie Whalley during his Presidential year 2013-14.

This site is provided by our
website partner